Witopia

78 Reviews - Visit This Provider
Price4.034.034.034.034.03
Reliability3.823.823.823.823.82
Speed3.783.783.783.783.78
Support4.094.094.094.094.09

A little peace of mind in a dangerous world. Our VPN services will ensure your online privacy as well as provide secure, unblocked, encrypted access to the Internet and VoIP services from anywhere on the Globe.

witopia_net


Visit This Provider Now

Witopia average rating: 3.9/5 based on 78 reviews.


Log in or Register to post a review.



78 Customer Reviews of “Witopia”

Review by River_Walker, June 23, 2014

  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I used VPN reviews to find another provider when I was unhappy with the speeds and support from my last provider, After much research, decided on WiTopia. Not to toot my own horn but I made a great choice. In a word STELLAR!! After several moths I am beyond pleased with their performance and speed. I have no issues streaming from anywhere. I have just installed Witopia on my phone and the support tech who helped me was professional, knowledgeable and on the ball! Even when traveling to China and the far east, access in never an issue. I feel secure where ever I go.
Thanks WiTopia! and Keep up the good work!

Review by acustomer, February 27, 2014

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Their support is utter garbage. Anytime I’m on their VPN I have to buffer streams constantly and when I contact their support, they take a couple of days for their reply but never offer any solutions. Speeds are horrible and support is practically useless. Avoid them and go with more proven VPN providers.

Review by Ray Campbell, April 4, 2013

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111

Witopia used to work in China, but it is now effectively blocked. Support has been useless. Their ‘support’ for my non-functioning Cloakbox, fully paid up, was to attempt to sell me a personal VPN account. If your goal for a VPN is get online to blocked sites from China, Witopia is not currently a solution. Given their very poor customer support, I wouldn’t use them for any location if you really depend on a working VPN.

Review by H K, March 3, 2013

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’m a new user to Witopia. So far, I’ve been extremely impressed by the offerings and the price. I really had no difficulty configuring my Linux system for Witopia. Also, it is quite fast here. I’m in the US. I will be using it also with Google Chromebook for WiFi. My ratings are based on what I’m experiencing as a new user. In reading reviews on Linux and WiFi boards, a lot of people seemed to have experienced good results with Witopia. I was also impressed with all of the help for setting it up. I’m using the Pro release. For two computers on it I find it extremely reasonable.

Review by China Hand, December 5, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

have had a Cloakbox since 2010 and the service just keeps getting worse. Part of that is not their fault, really – the Chinese government used to leave them alone but now seems intent on blocking them. They are not at all active in helping to sort it out. Customer service is spotty, usually sending me cut and paste instructions for a product I do not have or wanting me to set aside large blocks of time at inconvenient times for them to take over my computer remotely. They used to be a pretty good option for China but when you combine the bullseye painted on their back with their poor customer service, not any more. I am looking for a lower profile VPN

Review by Terry, December 4, 2012

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

I’ve used this service for over the past years and have had no major issues with it, in or out of country. Periodically, one of the gateways might not be working as well as others, and some might be faster than others, but I have been able to stream Netflix, HBO and surf the web without any issues. From a price standpoint, I think it is extremely reasonable. I’ve only had to contact tech support once, but utilized the chat tool on their main site and had excellent service and response to my questions. This service was recommended to me by a friend and I have been most happy with it. As with all products, there will always be those who are and those who are not, so I’m not disputing anyone who had a bad experience…only saying mine has been great!

Review by UROK, November 27, 2012

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 22222

Rubbish performance in China of late.
Unstable.
Support consists of “send us the cx log” or “upgrade to pro version”. During the recent CCP Congress they admitted defeat and gave up!
Service is slow, impersonal and repetitive whereby you have to do all the legwork yet lost days of service aren’t added onto your account. Setting up for mobile devices just adds more headaches. I think in the past year I’ve had a total of 2 months of usable service.
I’m going to try Astrill…

Review by Thomas, November 19, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Thumbs up. Very impressed with speed and live support when I had questions. Been using it several weeks and no problems. Price is very good from my shopping.

Review by Peter, October 20, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

We lived for a number of years in a country that took far too much nterest in your internet usage. We used WItopia for years. Expellent price, excellent service. Massive number of options for your location in the world. Excellent for speed. Excellent at getting initially connected even if you are already in a blocked location. Very helpful support. Have tried some free options as well but they weren’t worth the saving.

Review by James, October 2, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

WiTopia
WiTopia, Inc.
11654 Plaza America Drive #316
Reston, Virginia 20190-4700

Do not give WiTopia any of your financial information. Protect yourself and file a complaint.

I bought the Witopia one year subscription. Downloaded and installed. The client would not open. Looking at the online support was confusing

and a lot of the information was not written for someone with limited knowledge. Requesting a ticket number for help was not for me.
I checked my bank and my credit card has not been charged. I sent a New cancellation request at 3: 25 AM on September 26, 2012. I received an email from Shirin at 8:49 AM on September 26, 2012. “Hi James-
A refund is no issue at all—“. I uninstalled and deleted the program. I was not worried because of the email from Shirin and did not check with my bank until October 1. WiTopia had charged my credit card. I made many requests for a refund and just got the runaround from Jamie, David and Marc. My credit card was charged after WiTopia received my New cancellation request. This was clearly a unauthorized use of my credit card and fraud.

09/26/2012 03:25 – James ***** wrote:
New cancellation request:

Name: James *****

Email: **********

Account#: ********

WiTopia ORD#: ORD201209260024

Brief description: software would not open

On what platform/OS are you having issues? Windows 7

Where are you located? Canada

Who is your ISP? ******

Have you contacted our Support team to see if they could help resolve issue? No

Reason:
Other

09/26/2012 08:49 – WiTopia Support wrote:
Hi James-
A refund is no issue at all but we have some alternate software if you are interested we can help you set it up.
Let me know and we’d be

glad to assign someone to help.
Best wishes, Shirin
WiTopia, Inc.

Copied from the Fairfax County Police Department
What is not credit card theft/fraud?
Examples: If you give someone your credit card and they charge more than you authorized, this may not be a

crime. Many credit card user agreements explain that when you authorize someone to use your card, they become an “authorized user.”
If you inadvertently enter into an agreement with a company and they charge your credit card monthly, you have a civil matter with that company.

No crime has been committed if you failed to read the small print.

Reston District Police Station
FINANCIAL CRIMES online reporting
https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/police/financialcrimes/

The Federal Trade Commission
Bureau of Consumer Protection
The FTC’s Bureau of Consumer Protection works For The Consumer to prevent fraud, deception, and unfair business practices in the marketplace.

The FTC wants to hear from consumers who want to get information or file a complaint about fraud or identity theft
https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/

Haga clic aqui para reportar una queja con el FTC en Español.
https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/Consumer_HomeES.htm

econsumer.gov
collects cross-border complaints. Click here to file a complaint against an entity in another country
http://www.econsumer.gov/

Review by James, October 1, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Anyone else having problems getting a refund from this company? I could not get their software to open. I informed them of that twice and they just ignored this information. I requested a refund two hours later. The credit card was not used and I was assured that they would not charge the card. I just checked with the bank and they charged the card. I emailed again with a request to credit my account and gave them the same reason that the program would not open. I have received two emails that started with 1.) Open the WiTopia VPN client. What a waste of my time. I would not recommend sending your credit card information to this company. I would not recommend this company unless you know what all this is.

1.) Open the WiTopia VPN client
2.) Click on the Connect icon
3.) Click on Advanced Connect
4.) Select a VPN gateway location – Cincinnati, Kansas City, Saint Louis
5.) Select a VPN protocol – L2TP, IPSec or openVPN (Pro users only)
6.) Check the “Bypass DNS” box
7.) Click on Connect

If you experience any VPN connectivity issues, kindly reply with a copy of the connection log. (Click on the Connection Log icon and copy/paste the entire log into this email.)

These people are not impressing me with this foreign language. Why do they think anything would be in the log when I have told them three times the program will not open??? Where is the log? That would have helped if I had gotten past installing the software. Note the (Pro users only)
What the H is a wiki?

Review by M Cash, September 7, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I am actually Quite disappointed with witopia . I purchased 1 years subscription in late July this year, as I was traveling to China from Australia in late August . On arrival in china I found that Witopia has been blocked and I could not even contact them to cancel my subscription before the 30 day cut off date . I spent $50 on the subscription and now have had to spend more money with another company ( which works perfectly I might add ) I think that they must have known that Witopia is unavailable in China and did not explain this to their prospective customers.

Review by liam, September 6, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

In my review, I forgot to rate the product. So here goes.

Review by liam, September 6, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Two years ago, I began using WiTopia. I had no experience with a VPN product. On top of that, I use Linux, though I’m not, in any sense, a programmer-type.

Oh, and one more thing: I’m 72 years old and bedridden.

I’m in the hospital a lot, and have to go from place to place, and I don’t want my grandchildren’s photos and emails, or any other things for which I use Internet communications, to be readily available to prying eyes.

I am so sold on WiTopia, I just can’t come up with the words. For one thing, they’ve treated me like a person, not like an old man, or a number. They’re right there with information I need, exactly when I need it.

They made the setup so easy, I’ve often referred the service to people who are even less technically challenged than I am. They report happiness.

I DO NOT make it a habit of writing reviews about anyone or anything. But these folks at WiTopia have added a sense of security to my Web activities that is worth every penny of the small amount it costs.

I don’t know how much longer I’ll be around, but for as long as I am, you can bet I’m keeping my WiTopia. I checked in with them tonight to find out how to set it up on a new iPad the grandkids bought me. Piece of cake!

Blessings to all at WiTopia.

Review by William, August 18, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

works as advertised. witopia was recommended to me by coworkers and I put it through paces versus two other VPN /proxy solutions including streaming from BBC during the olympics. witopia outperformed the others consistently yet cost less. live support was friendly and helpful.

Review by Chris, August 6, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Bought and Paid for this “lemon” a week ago and it still does not work.. So called support consists of me doing all the work and sending in email updates which no one replies too. If they do reply it is to tell me that it is my problem or my “machines” problem.

I am running Win XP Pro and WiTopia email support have no clue. Funny because on the WiTopia Wiki they know all about the problem and even offer solutions.

Don’t waste your money or time with WiTopia.

Review by Coll, July 25, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have to say this service is fantastic. I am almost illiterate when it comes to setups and I found the support was concise and easy to follow.
Now, I can go anywhere in the world!

Review by MarkyMarc, July 22, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Why didn’t i try these guys first?!? There software is really cool. Love the “virtual location” teleportation feeling. Speed is very fast for streaming. Contacted tech support at 3am because I had a question about setting up my iPad and Android tab (yes, I have both ;-)) and was connected to an actual person who actually sounded American and was friendly and helpful. Amazing!!! Not sure how they afford to hire Americans and charge the prices they do, but I’m sold on Witopia. very refreshing compared to most online companies!

Review by Gadgetman, June 21, 2012

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111

1 – They limit concurrent connections to only 2.
2- I frequently get disconnected.
3- My login ID & password fails periodically & for 2 or 3 hours I can’t login back in & keep getting “Authentication Failed” . Then, all of the sudden it works after that 2 / 3hours period.
4- They filter a lot of sites.
5- after using them for 4 days, they suspended my account, stating that pending “payment verification”, while they already took the money out of my account.
6- Their technical support staff are just plain rude (Chris).
7- They DO MAINTAIN LOGS for a week, at least.
8- Before you sign on, read their fine prints which often made with ambiguity.

Review by Juan, June 14, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

You can take one week just for free, with vpn ninja, http://www.vpnninja.com

Review by Nicholas Snell, May 24, 2012

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I should admit up front that this is the only private VPN service I’ve had, so I can’t really compare to others. But I can say that (a) Witopia does what it says it should do, very well, and (b) It’s excellent value for the money. There are numerous locations to connect, both in the United States and out. There is support for OpenVPN, IPsec, L2TP, and PPTP protocols. There are several different cryptographic standards available. If you’re having trouble installing or updating the service, you can get support by online chat or voice (online chat is the easiest and fastest) right away. Connections are dropped very rarely.

Of course, using Witopia does slow down my use of uTorrent, so I disable it when I’m operating that application. If I were really concerned about anonymity when using that application, however, I’d put up with the speed loss and feel secure that I was hidden and untraceable.

In short, I’m a very satisfied customer.

Review by Kaz, May 11, 2012

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 55555

I’ve had this service for years. I live in the Middle East where access to almost everything is blocked suddenly for no reason. Witopia is great with service . But the fact that I say that shows that I need to contact their service reps frequently. Which means that the service goes down and it does regularly. I’m unsure if this has to do with really affetive blocking by the Middle East telecom service providers that want to keep a monopoly on the market or if it is because the signal and speed from Witopia is too slow. There were no other players when I first purchased but I’m looking around now for a relaiable service. Perhaps Witiopi is it. But I’m sick of not being able to use my VPN for at least 3 out of the 12 mons I pay for it. And tired of spending my weekends trying to get the service so I can skype a relative overseas to talk. :(. If Witopia is the best we need better. Also although the upgrade in pro-system service offered by Witopia now has a lot of new bells and whistles the old service (annually purchased ) was more reliable and connected better. This new one does connect quickly too multiple places sometimes. But not all the time.

Review by Susan Allen, March 27, 2012

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I was just looking for a place to express my admiration for Witopia’s customer service. I do my fair share of complaining when a company lets me down! The word that comes to mind when I think of Witopia is awe–they are just always there whenever I have a the smallest problem, answering immediately on chat and often within minutes with email. What also surprises and impresses me is their courtesy and patience with little tech-impaired me. I never feel looked down upon–they instantly come down to my lamentable level and are always ready to go remote if I feel overwhelmed.

I noticed a comment below from someone who says it’s not working for them in China. I live in China and I suggest that you just ask them to work with you. it often requires a little tweaking when you start up and they are certainly ready to do that for you until it works. China is probably their biggest customer and it certainly works for hoards of us!

Review by G, March 10, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

What a waste of time. Yes, Very little piece of mind if you happen to require your vpn because you are in China and behind the GFW.
None of the included gateways which are supplied with their client work in China, they are all blocked. Witopia don’t appear to make this very clear during the purchase process, all they told me was I would have to make additional adjustments to make it work. Little did I know that actually means they will supply you with 3 working gateways. 1 openVPN, 1 IPSec and 1 PPTP.. All in the US. Thats great!! Nothing like an arsenal of tools to keep you connected.
They should take the swiss army knife picture down and replace it with a lump of wood.

Review by rolf, February 18, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

My friend purchase ovpn but he hasn’t recive a anything.
what should he do?

Review by Dr. Alfredo Baker, February 8, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I just returned from a year long deployment in Afghanistan and I needed to re-establish my Witopia account. I used the chat forum and Marc (support) was extremely courteous, patience and supportive. I had some difficulties setting up my activation and usage as I just restored my MacBook Pro system. Marc spent closed to 20 minutes back and forth making sure that my connection was working. I even asked him if I needed the Cloakbox Pro to further protect my home computers and he could have told a sale line and convince me to buy it but he did not, he just told me that there was no need as I already have an Apple Extreme and the VPN software is working in all the computers. Again, that is honesty above everything else. Great customer service. This is for the Witopia Manager: please give Marc a bonus or some days off. I strongly recommend this VPN company. Thanks

Review by Nikki, December 29, 2011

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I am so happy to have VPN that consistently works in China. It’s been a hassle to find a reliable but not too expensive product like theirs. When i had a small issue in downloading the installer (completely my fault, i didn’t follow the instructions in order) their customer service chat line was excellent. The agent I spoke to was both very polite, and extremely helpful, by activating my account for me, and giving me the link for the installer. I will definitely continue to use this product in the future.

Review by jay, December 17, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Witopia is now blocked in China.

Review by MIguel Ángel, December 17, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The client support is really great.

Review by Mike, December 16, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I wanted to try but:

Server not found – Firefox can’t find the server at http://www.witopia.com

Review by Donna - from Mexico, December 8, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I am so pleased with Witopia, appreciate the pricing structures, the service is outstanding, the customer care is full of people who DO care about the customers and it shows. I just renewed for my third year in a row and the second I log onto any VPN in the US, I am able to watch videos on major networks (that were blocked to Mexico reception) and basically hide my real IP from the world as desired. I’m very pleased and recommend them to all my friends, many of whom didn’t even know such a thing existed. I’m VERY satisfied with Witopia.net and their service. Just color me happy with them! :)

Review by LeoM, November 30, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve been a customer of Witopia for the past 2 years and just renewed. During this time, I’ve been in China, probably the most horrendous internet censoring nation in the world. I have never had a single issue with Witopia, and if I’ve ever asked for technical support, these guys respond literally within the hour. Last night I had let my VPN lapse, and got cut off from the rest of the world….I’m serious, everything was gone and I couldn’t even see the Witopia site anymore. I contacted customer service by email (thank goodness for old emails) and Jen from their technical support contacted me within 1 hour, and told me the process to get around the firewall to redo my subscription. Thank goodness too, I don’t want that feeling of “nothing” anytime soon. If you are thinking about another VPN, seriously don’t waste your time. My other friends in China have tried the other services and switched to mine once they came over and saw my speeds. Witopia gives you plenty of information to help you prevent throttling by your ISP’s and DNS denials. These guys are on their game.

Review by Susan Allen, November 18, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

Living a country where a vpn is a lifeline, I have used WiTopia for several months now and am most impressed with their customer service. Frankly, it’s so amazing, I asked one of their techs last night where I could go online to praise it! So, taking last night as an example: someone from our internet company was over addressing a problem and messed up my vpn connection. After he left I immediately emailed WiTopia, and had a response within minutes–it took four email exchanges to fix the problem, which was resolved within three or four hours. I’ve had nightmare experiences with a variety of companies where someone new always answers the most recent email and was convinced this kind of system simply doesn’t work. But it works with these guys–fast, efficient and courteous. I don’t hesitate to complain when I get bad service, and am really happy to have the occasion to praise!

Review by Fred K, November 6, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have used this service for nearly a year. Generally, perfectly reliable and fast. When there was an issue, the tech support was responsive and spot on. I would recommend this service to anyone. I agree with Tahir in that their customer service leaves me with a “smile on my face”. And, they are over 4000 miles away.

Review by Tahir, October 24, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Using Witopia for the 2nd year now, and the service is as promised. I’ve never had connectivity problems & such, and the speed is great. However, what stands out is the extremely excellent & responsive customer service… I’ve always had a smile on my face when dealing with their customer service – which is kinda unusual because it’s usually a pain in general. Always resolved my issues in a few minutes, even if it’s stupid questions that are already in their support wiki. Overall, A+, 10/10, worth every penny and I’ve even recommended it to friends who’re also quite happy with them. 

Review by Ray, October 22, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

This is my second year using WiTopia’s VPN services from China. The support staff and professionalism is the best I have ever experienced, with the exception of the IRS (long story). Only on one occasion did I have problems connecting to the VPN, but as it turned out all VPN services were being targeted by the Chinese government. Witopia was back up in no time while my friends using other VPN services were SOL for over a week. But best of all, is the support and their expertise.

Review by Charles R., October 19, 2011

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve had this vpn for 4 years. China of course has tried over and over to block them and every other VPN that is used in the country and it’s very annoying when this happens. What I can’t say enough is how great their customer service is, not once I’ve been disappointed, they are always looking for ways to make my VPN stable and reliable and it seems that they never sleep because no matter when I contact them they answer almost instantly.
I don’t give them 5 start on reliability because if you are not computer savvy it might scare you a bit when you have to go through the steps required to fix it when, in my case, China slows it down. But if this is not your case you will love it because through those tweaks I’ve been able to watch HULU and NETFLIX from China.
Regarding speed, because China has so many filters and barriers, sometimes using a VPN speeds my connection.
I’ve found that the price is average, not crazy about it but almost everybody charges the same, their best advantage is all the gateways they provide which makes it very versatile, specially if the USA is not your home country and you would like to watch tv shows from your own country

Review by Kevin Affleck, October 13, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I purchased a VPN in March 2011 and experienced no problems whatsoever until October 2011. And even then the problem was diagnosed by the swift, diligent and helpful support team, in particular Jamie.

Thank you Jamie and Witopia

Review by Stef, October 13, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

app can be a bit tricky to set up (mostly due to their love of acronyms and jargon), but it works like a dream and when I needed to re-install, the online chat support was the best I’ve experienced ever. awesome.

Review by Johnny, October 5, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I can tell you that after my experience with witopia support team, they are the best among all.with all do respect for other support team.really they keep on amazing me every time I need them even though I live in china and over here it’s not easy to stay connected but with witopia support team there is always a fast and realible solution
Thank all
Johnny

Review by Ali Taheri, September 29, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I love WiTopia and their great support.Their Support is 7×24 and all of the support members are very nice and patient.I did not see this type of support from a company and it is very interesting for me.Value of their Price/Performane is Excellent and I offer their service to everyone in the world.Their servers are distributed all of the world and with these server you could connect to everywhere on the Net.Thanks WiTopia and Thanks WiTopia Support team

Review by Gregory, August 29, 2011

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

My Witopia VPN stopped working and the support staff Shirin couldn’t help and the company didn’t want to refund the money. Their software and customer service sucks. I am using another VPN now which actually works!

Review by Rob, June 11, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I investigated VPN services for a while, but signed up with Witopia on the recommendation of a friend.

The price seemed more than reasonable, and so I paid and downloaded the client. It worked immediately, and I have had no problems since then.

Changing from one exit point to another is a snap – just using the menu to do so. The speed of service is perfectly adequate for my needs, and very reliable.

The support staff have been great – on only two occaisons I have had to get in touch, and my problem was solved in minutes by friendly and courteous staff. (I’m kind of surprised to hear of other customer’s problems in this regard!)

To summarise – Witopia = Awesome:

Review by Tommie, March 1, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I’ve earlier used Witopia for about a year. I then tried some other solutions, but now I’m back.

I’ve got almost identical speed thru Witopia as I’m outside (local Witopia server in my city), thats awesome. Have no problem what so ever to from time to time watch Hulu.com or BBC iPlayer in HD.

The order process works like a charm. 2 minutes and you’re all set up. I gave a subscription to my girlfriend an even she fixed it (but hey, It was on a Mac ;) ).

Fully recommend Witopia, well invested money.

// Tommie, northern europe

Review by Larry Siegel, February 26, 2011

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I installed Wytopia about two months ago with the help of extremely responsive customer support. My lack of familiarity with Windows 7 was the basic problem, and I was patiently steered through the installation process with the help of 3 quickly provided emails. The service has worked very well.

Today I had another question regarding installation on a 2nd computer. The response was equally rapid and informative. It’s hard to understand why there can be any complaints about customer support..

Review by Rajesh, February 17, 2011

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I bought the Witopia one year subscription. Downloaded and installed, It worked for one day and then stopped. Live support was not co-operative, showed arrogance and stubbornness. second day, they said that your transaction is FRAUD and your service is cancelled. Imagine, without any information from them, they said that your transaction is fraud and keeping quiet with money paid to them. Please be careful while buying Witopia, if their service does not work with you, they might say that your transaction is FRAUD and sit on your money.

Open VPN is unfriendly.

thanks

Rajesh

Review by Omer, February 14, 2011

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333

Its been over 5days now and some how Google CDN’s have problems with ALL of Witopia exit points. You exit out of any US or Canadian IP and you end up in Google sites in Hong Kong in Chinese. You exit out of the UK to land in UAE with Arabic search results.

Technical support guys are nice, but completely unhelpfull. Will say nothing other then that its Google’s error with their GeoIP update. Id understand their reluctance to deploy/update new IPs even if it is Google’s fault for a few hours or even a day but its been more then 5.

Not even a single new correct IP block/city being issued for such a long lasting problem is, to me, just unresponsive/uncaring support. Tech support shouldnt be just about lost passwords. It would have taken them last then an hour to get a new IP (or block) to deploy a working new exit point.

EVEN if this is a google problem such an easy effort on Witopia’s part would have helped its customers that rely heavily on google properties and differentiated it from the static and keep loyal customers…

Review by Dazz-ITFC, February 13, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

If there is a better VPN service than Witopia’s then I’d like to know about it.

I’ve been using these guys for almost 4 years and TBH they’re technical support and their wiki pages are first rate.

For the money you pay and the choice of proxies available you just can’t lose.

Keep up the good work Witopia.

Review by IronMac, February 12, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

Am interacting at the moment with Witopia’s tech support and I am going to take this opportunity to say that they are one of the most responsive people on the ‘Net! Once in a while the service might be a bit flakey but then that could be the connection or the ISP but if there is a problem these guys are ready to respond to try and help you out.

Price is fantastic, the software installs easily on my MBP, and there is ton of new gateways but support is where these guys really shine. I’ve been with these guys for almost two years and I am a happy camper.

If you can, get Jennifer for tech support!

Review by LovemyVPN, February 4, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I love your VPN service!

Your customer service is stellar and I am impressed with resolution of technical issues on the first contact.

Accolades to your service and your staff! Don’t change a thing!

Review by Milton Moffatt, January 29, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I’m in the U.A.E.I’m trying to log in to your web site .I wouuld like to create an account,but when ever I try to get to your web site to do so I’m blocked.How can I get throug to create an account?I need your services because from the reviews I’ve read I think getting your system will enable me to get web sites that are blocked here.I hope someone who reads this email wll contact me because this is the only site that is not blocked.

Review by NetGeek, January 23, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I am a network geek and I initially started to use witopia only for watching US tv shows when out of the country.
After a while I realized how good the service was and I started to use it for just everything, The best money spent on network services after buying my first 300 baud modem. I love the flexibility (many server in a lot of different countries and the possibility to use different access options: PPTP, IPSEC and SSL. Support is great and always on-line. It is also possible to configure your own router (this is not supported) or get their own in order to connect your network.
Best price, best support and best reliability (multiple end point server in same location and you do not even realize it because they use round robin DNS to share the load and multiple locations). Speed you alway going to get an hit compared to you pure provider speed but it is the best around and streams without interruptions.

Review by Jim North, December 9, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have been a Witopia subscriber for nearly 2 years, and will soon be renewing my subscription for a third year. This service does *everything* it promises. It’s fast. It’s solidly reliable. It works flawlessly with Skype. It quickly and honestly reports any service glitches on its blog page and proposes appropriate workarounds.

It’s a bit of a mystery to me how Witopia can do what they do at the amazingly low prices they charge. The infrastructure is huge. Gateway servers are available worldwide, on every continent except Antarctica. (If you live there, just use the Sydney gateway :))

A final note: Witopia’s customer service is second to none. I’ve made a couple of tech queries during the course of my subscription, and have always received prompt, professional and directly helpful responses. Most recently, I’d lost my program download link due to a hard drive crash in the course of installing a new OS. Witopia got back to me in less than 24 hours with a new link and I was soon “back in business.”

I can honestly say that I have found “nothing not to like” regarding Witopia’s product and service, and I plan to be a lifetime customer.

Jim North
Philippines

Review by Sari, December 6, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The best VPN service with an amazing price and a friendly yet professional 24/7 chat support team. Do I have to say more?! ;-)

Review by Cheri H, November 11, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Very fair price, great service and terrific staff.

If you’re like me, a technodinosaur (I only know how to shop online), then it’s really reassuring to know that the staff of Witopia will walk you through installation without making you feel like an idiot (Thanks, Brooks!).

I’m so pleased I found this company!

Review by native speaker english, November 8, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I see that there are mixed reviews from China… I can’t speak to that. And the really, really sour-grapes reviews???? They are always suspect to me. I tried so many free vpns and gave up on that. Then, I searched and searched for a decent product from a decent provider at a decent price. I was fortunate to get in touch with Tara at Witopia. After she pleasantly and professionally fielded a hundred different questions from me (at least!), I decided to buy. She walked me through each step, troubleshot problems that, frankly I (NOT they) had, and I even got to talk to one of the owners (Bill) on the online chat when I went back and Tara was on break. The price was much better than what I had seen elsewhere, too. While I had them online, I tried the Latvian server and the Atlanta server, and they were both great! I know that some of these reviews are bogus, so I would be happy to talk to anyone via Skype who has a question for an actual satisfied client… me! They have 24-online human chat support from people who know what they are talking about, a huge selection of servers all over the world, and the packages they offer – I think fit anyone’s needs. I was never happy with those bogus free services, and even though I tend to be a cheapskate, I have to say that I am supersatisfied with mine, and I only pay $59.99 a year… well, well worth it to me. You can contact me at nativespeakerenglish@yahoo.com if you have any questions for me. I am in no way affiliated with Witopia, just a guy who thinks that it is as important to mention good service and product as it is to complain about the bad

Review by saka, September 4, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Great service and very fast downloads from China. LOTS of cities to connect through. Really nice support personnel when I had questions.

Review by Richard S., August 31, 2010

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

Used Witopia for 3 months: frequent disconnects, less than satisfying transfer speed, and support is confusing not often not very helpful. I won a Freedur account from CityWeekend giveaway and so far it’s vastly superior to my experience in Witopia. My friend who’s using StrongVPN is also happy with his. In short, I tried Witopia and didn’t like it one bit.

Review by Patrick, August 21, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Great service, ability to select your connection within a long list of servers worldwide for the same price. I can also choose the type of encryption I need.
Been using them for 3 years from UAE.

Review by Saeed, July 23, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

I have a customer for over 3 years now. I am from UAE. I love their service. I only needed their support once during the last 3 years. I appreciate their efforts in providing servers around the globe.

Review by Peter, June 25, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444

Worked very well for me over here in Oman…..complete nonsense restrictions kept us from using VoIP in order to stay in touch with our loved ones at home. Unfortunately it seems that now these Omani cencors have found a way to block the VPN connection since it’s not working anymore since a couple of days.
Until now we’ve saved tons of money so it was defenitely worth it. Furthermore now we will switch to emailing our family at home – not one cent from us for these greedy guys at Omanmobile!

Review by Sebastian, June 3, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The PPTP package does not work with Hulu, they detect it ;(

Review by Richard, May 27, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Stunning service performance on both my Mac and iPhone that freed my internet in the Gulf from idiotic restrictions.

Just extended for another year and will continue do so expecially due to stunning support.

Review by Zac Jackson, May 8, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I’ve happily re-subscribed to Witopia due to their pretty-much faultless service to date, only to find it has improved even further! Working out of China, as I am, they seem to have raised the bar on speed, connectivity and usability.
Worth every Cent, they’re life-savers. Witopia are always recommended by myself, and used by all my ex-pat colleagues over here.

Review by Tara Peter, May 7, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I love this service! I travel to alot on business and anytime I had an issue, the support staff got back to me right away. I highly recommend this one – I have tried 4 others – they were terrible.

Review by Xtranox, May 5, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have been using this VPN for 1.5 years and believe me that from my own experience their support service is ‘super’ excellent? They also delivered their promises by giving me a complete refund when my PPTP VPN does not work in this country.

Now when I am having problem with connecting to my ISP using SSL VPN, they are still working very hard on this. I suspect that the local Nawras ISP has now found a way to block the SSL VPN. You know what! Even if this is true, all my good experiences with Witopia VPN, all the savings that I’ve made by using their service and the quality of service I enjoyed for the past 1.5years would easily overcome my disappointment. I am not sure if I can find other VPN providers that could even match the quality provided by Witopia.net.

Congratulations Witopia!

Review by Giovanni M, April 24, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Very satisfied. MUCH faster than last two providers I tried and lower pricing. Let’s you switch vpn location instantly. Using for Skype, facebook and video streaming as well as general security at hotspots with zero issues. Bought openVPN+PPTP package for MacBook Pro and iPhone 3GS.

G

Review by Guus Oman, April 20, 2010

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

Its a really good deal – if it worked.
I’ve have also purchased their $60 version, for a years VPN. However the service is terrible. While it works fine for any internet surfing, but it doesn’t support Voip calls. I am in Oman – and this may be the issue – but they specifically say people in Oman can use their service. This is emphatically not the case.
I have contacted their support staff, who in instance reply right away with solutions who didn’t work.

Unreliable.
Go with another system, you get what you pay for at $60 for a year

Review by TimH, April 17, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Excellent product. Outstanding customer service. Highly recommended!!

I began using WiTopia in 2008 due to frequent travel. Shortly thereafter, I was reassigned to Europe, making the purchase an even better value. I recently passed my renewal period and didn’t hesitate to do so.

I use the service for my mobile devices as well. After recently purchasing an iPad, I was having difficulty getting the service setup. I sent a message to customer service and received a response within a couple of hours. I was able to correct my own error and get the service going. This was my second time using customer service and the second time they’ve been both timely and helpful.

I do notice a speed difference over the VPN, which is to be expected. I wouldn’t call it significant and it doesn’t affect my opinion of the value of the service provided. If you are looking for a VPN, give WiTopia a try. I think you’ll be as satisfied as I am.

Review by wfd2101, April 14, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Excellent service, fast, reliable, friendly UI. Not a single crash despite the best efforts of the Chinese government’s censors. And best of all, stellar customer service.

Review by Scott Harrison, April 11, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Support with witopia is *excellent*. I had issues connecting to a certain video site in the USA using PPTP. Support provided assistance in upgrading to a open vpn based service, in less than one hour and on a Sunday.

I wish all software vendors had support like this.

Review by DE, April 10, 2010

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

This is thee best VPN service I have been using for more than 2 yrs now. I travel frequently to China on business trips so having a secure tunnel gives me piece of mind when checking my bank statements or other personal accounts online.

Support is the best in the business. I have emailed these folks in the wee hours of the morning and I actually had a human email me back. You can’t get this type of support these days from anyone, not even Uncle Sam. I’d recommend it to any friends or family members for secure transactions and surfing while overseas or at airports or any establishment that offers free wifi connections.

Review by George N., April 7, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Works awesome in Beijing on Mac OS 10.6.2 and windows 7 machines. Is very fast and actually seemed to speed up my connection.

I found install very easy. The software they provide is openVPN wrapped up in their own installer, which is best VPN software out there.

Their california servers do seem faster than Hong Kong for some reason and I did have to add witopia network information in place of my Chinese ISP’s but once I did that..it screamed!

support responded to me within about 30 seconds.

very happy!!!

Review by Sasha Mills, March 13, 2010

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 55555

I tried this company today, using their Open (SSL) VPN solution. They have an excellent website and I really wanted to be able to recommend them, but I’m afraid I just can’t.

To use the VPN you have to install their software which I found to be very amateur. For example, when you install it comes up with the usual screen to choose where you want to install to, but woe betide you if you are foolish enough to use any location but the default! After that nothing works! Why provide the screen at all if it will break if you use it. Likewise, under Vista you must run the software as Administrator or it won’t work, which I don’t much like either.

Most importantly though, I have to echo another reviewer and say that I too found the performance pretty bad. I’m also trying to use their service from China and while there were occasional bursts of speed acceptable (not stunning) performance, it was mostly pretty unusable. Even the simplest web surfing task (and I’m talking small pages here, not hugely intensive ones) would simply hang up indefinitely. I tried testing some of their servers using SpeedTest.Net and found that many of the servers had terrible connection speeds so I know that it’s not just about my connection here in China.

I never bothered to try their support so I’ve been charitable and given it 5 stars. I can’t actually comment on it.

All in all, I got better service from YourPrivateVPN at half the price. Off to try Banana now, I’ll put in a review for that too when I have some results!

Review by FrankG, March 1, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve used witopia for a couple years in China and I find the connections to be fast and reliable and the support quick to respond and very helpful…even on weekends… which is amazing considering the time difference.

Not to say bob is mistaken about his experience, but mine has been completely different. They seem to be a great company with great people.

Frank

Review by Daniel Smith, January 10, 2010

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111

Its a really good deal – if it worked.
I’ve purchased their $60 version, for a years VPN that’s a 3rd the price of many others. However the service is terrible. While it works fine for any online games, its almost completely useless for internet surfing. I am in China – and this may be the issue – but they specifically say people in china can use their service. This is emphatically not the case.
I have contacted their support staff, who in one instance reply right away, and then don’t hear from them for weeks. Without a case number – I get multiple people asking me the same questions.

Unreliable, and poor support.
Go with another system, you get what you pay for.

Review by bob uk, October 28, 2009

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • Not Rated

At $60 for a year for OpenVPN I found Witopia to be reasonably priced for personal use. Installation was easy onWindows XP and I can use it on more than one PC (althogh not at exactly the same time). No problems watching Youtube although NBC videos were a little jerky. Normally these are not viewable in Europe, but setting sever as a US one makes it happen. I have not used customer servce so I canot comment on it. I do not regret this purchase.