Strong VPN

76 Reviews - Visit This Provider
Price3.513.513.513.513.51
Reliability3.653.653.653.653.65
Speed3.443.443.443.443.44
Support3.713.713.713.713.71

If you are in the market for a VPN account, you’ve come to the right place. We have been providing Internet Services for a very long time, and understand what it takes to provide a customer a quality product. You can reach us by Skype, Live Help or even the phone 24x7x365. Cruise our site and let us know if you have any questions.


Visit This Provider Now

Strong VPN average rating: 3.6/5 based on 76 reviews.


Log in or Register to post a review.



76 Customer Reviews of “Strong VPN”

Review by adele samantha, September 28, 2014

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

Thanks for the article.Why using a VPN when you can use a DNS service like UnoTelly? The DNS option is much faster and easier to use.

Review by T, April 8, 2014

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I have been using StrongVPN since October 2013 and at first it work fine. Their speed kind of goes up and down. The last month and a half their connection speed to the US has been intolerable. The average download speed is about 0.11mbps and upload speed test can’t even complete. Chat with support and was told is my issue not theirs. I have 6+ mbps download and 12+ mbps upload but they said is my ISP’s problem connecting from China to US. Well, if my ISP does not have issue connecting to the US why do I need a VPN?

Review by zambia, December 18, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Overall I am very happy with strongvpn to china, I tried HMA and they have terrible support, the speed varies with strongvpn based on load, I have found that out over the last year over all I would recommend these guys solely due to support, Wutopia and HMA were better before but now due to support I say strong vpn is the best all around. regarding price, they are all about the same the openvpn package strong has is slightly more expensive but I believe its a tad better offering in server selection then the competitors at this point in the cat and mouse game.

Review by Murray, November 13, 2012

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

My ratings for this company. Lost control of their network. Unless others confirm a different experience I would avoid .

Review by Murray, November 13, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Today is November 12th 2012. I have been in china for a year and was using Stongvpn wihout any problem. Download speed of 1mb was normal. For the last several days I have had a very slow connection with them. Tried troubleshooting with their tech support but the suggestions were 1st check speed of internet: No problem 12Mbits fibre optic broadband connection and speedtest.net confimed that. 2nd change your server did that twice same problem. Also changed from OpneVPN to Windows 7 SSTP. Told the tech that the trace routes through their network were timing out or taking up to 5000ms per route on every server i tried: completely ignored that issue and admitted to nothing wrong at their end. Finally realized they have overloaded their network and they are struggling to upgrade the routers. I counted well over 500 servers and most of them have 200 VPN accounts on each server. They have definitely lost it when it comes to customer service. They also have lost control of their network. Unless others confirm a different experience I would avoid avoid avoid.

Review by Alister, September 17, 2012

  • 22222
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 44444

Strong VPN have a good support but i never go more faster than 1 MB dowload speed when download torrent files, i have a 20 MB line connection with my ISP , i call them to see if there is problem on the line but no.
vpn torrent

Review by Andy, September 1, 2012

  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

I too was assured that my connection speed would never drop below 50% of normal connectivity. This is a completely false statement. I have a 20mb line and the fastest network available on Strong VPN gives me 300k download and 50k upload. This is the fastest it will go! These speeds, although quicker than dial up (remember that?) are certainly not quick enough for any kind of video viewing. Facebook takes around five minutes to fully load! Youtube – forget it, it won’t work. BBC iPlayer – will not work. In fact this VPN service is only good for sending emails. However, even Hotmail usually times out because the network is too slow.
Last year Strong VPN was very good. As of September 2012 it ranks as useless. GO ELSEWHERE!

Review by Chris, August 11, 2012

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 55555

I purchased a StrongVPN account to provide an additional level of security while gaming and using skype. I was assured by the customer rep, that it would only slow my 80/35 connection a little, if at all. I got the setup email and tech support easily setup my vpn remotely. The first server I tried which is located less than 30 miles from my home gave me speeds of 9/20. I contacted tech support and they showed me how to test speed of another server and then switch to it. This second server provided speeds of 15/30, marginally better than the first. I contacted tech support again, who said it was an ISP issue and that I would either have to change my ISP or try upgrading to their open package for an additional $30. I think this is a bit shady. This is my first experience with a vpn company and it may be my last.

Review by Michael P, July 29, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Excellent company, I’ve tried Witopia, HMA and 2 others. StrongVPN offers the best support and their servers are WAY faster. The packages are not that hard to understand! OMG.. people complain over the most stupid things. Just get their special.. or ask their 24×7 live help. And just a FYI, ALL PROVIDERS LOG.. DUH. If they don’t, they are breaking the law. Do you want a company that breaks the LAW to have your personal info and traffic? I DIDN’T THINK SO.. jeez.

Review by elly, July 28, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

be careful with choosing your package.. very misleading, deceiving in my opinion. One page will have you click to find best package for your area….next page at top has a great deal $21/3months in a green box … directly under that is a line saying uk us ca nl….. and lots of other info about high speed blah blah.. clicik on the 3month $21 deal… and find later that it is a package that does not include uk.. but…….you can upgrade! I can smell a rat a mile away…. very smelly there.

Review by Dude, June 1, 2012

  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 33333
  • 11111

Used to work with Amazon Instant video; does not workanymore.

Review by Dude, June 1, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

used to workwell with Amazon Instantvideo;not anymore.

Review by Thomas Eskerod, June 1, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

StrongVPN has excellent selection of servers but is absolutely toxic to privacy.

They log a lot of user info, don’t clearly state for how long they keep it, and lie about their logging policy.

I was terminated after two days after they received a DMCA notice.

Review by Pablo, May 23, 2012

  • 22222
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 44444

I have been using StrongVPN for over 2 years. They are a good and reliable company, I’ve been using their OpenVPN for over a year on my router without any issues.other than having my account suspended once for a few days because of a 2nd DMCA complaint, I’ve been warned that a 3rd complaint will be a permanent suspension. But I rarely use Bit Torrent nowadays. I have been thinking of switching to another service, because I would like a faster connection since my ISP has increased my speed by 50%, I’m currently receiving a an average of 5mbps download from their SF, USA Server, I use VPN for a US IP address. The price is more expensive than competitors.Customer support is good, except for the time of the suspension it took 3 days to get management to reactivate my account. I like the fact they provide an extra PPTP connection for only $2.extra per month, It’s excellent for when I use my laptop in public places & in hotels and when I travel. I’ve used the extra PPTP vpn to connect to the San Francisco server, from Mexico, Canada, Germany & Australia without any issue, speed of course varies from country to country. StrongVPN is reliable and secure, but lacks anonymity, also pricing is a little expensive, considering my DD-WRT router usually stays connected to only one server and speed is the other issue.

Review by Jonathan Elano, May 9, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I am wondering what all of you use a VPN service for! Obviously it is not for privacy or anonymity and it is just looking for someplace to access facebook or the like. This being the case you could find a much cheaper alternative.
Best UK VPN

Review by David Young, May 3, 2012

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I tip my hat to Strong VPN, these guys made it very easy for me to sign up and get connected.
Their live support was great, and they are there 24×7.

I have already recommended them to all of my friends. Thank you again StrongVPN

Review by Peggy Eichhorn, May 3, 2012

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Need my netflix in Mexico!!! Strong VPN helped me get this going, they were so professional!!!
In a matter of minutes I had my vpn connected and I was streaming my favorite shows.

I wish I would have known about these guys a LOOONG time ago!

Their agents were friendly and very knowledgeable.

A+ Guys, thanks a ton!

Review by bill, May 3, 2012

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Love the service, there techs remotely setup the VPN account for me, didn’t have to do anything, its fast and reliable

Review by janine raney, May 3, 2012

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 55555

I was not quite sure on which package I should select. Clicked on the live chat link, and the customer service agent let me which package I should use. I was pretty happy to find out that I can purchase 1 year in advance.

After my order was processed, they had a technician help me setup the vpn remotely, and I was up and running in about 5 minutes.

Great job guys, you rock!!

Review by Me, May 2, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • 11111

The service is terrible. The support team has no idea what’s going on. Kristen, in particular. I was trying to make an order online and I could not make the order go through past the first page. The live chat person told me to change browsers, did that, it didn’t help. So I contact live chat again and she’s like “oh, just put “personal” under company.” But there’s nothing that says Company on the order form. So she goes and insists that it’s there for a few minutes until I describe exactly what’s on the order form and that there is NO “Company” there to put “personal” under.
It goes totally silent for a few minutes and I’m waiting for instuctions on what to do. So, I decide to ask a question. “Do I have to register first?”
She (Kristen) asks “Do you already have an account with us?”
Uh, duh, I would’nt have asked if I had to register if I already had an account. I type “no”
After a couple more minutes she types back “yes, register”
So, I’m looking for the register link and there is no register link to be found. I just see the sign in option. The register option is usually right there under or next to the log in option.
So I ask “where do I register? I don’t see it.” and she types “under the order tab” I was just staring at the order tab page for the last 15 minutes, I know there is no register link there. So, out of frustration, I disconnect.
I decide to try again but now there is no more “live chat” for me to click on. It’s mysteriously disappeared.
I don’t know what the heck is going on but I shop online all the time and I’ve never had this much trouble trying to order online from someone. If it’s this much trouble just trying to order the product and their service is this terrible before they even get my money, I hate to see what happens after I give them my money. I will not be ordering from them. They lost an annual subscription.

Review by Robert Stanford, April 7, 2012

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I love StrongVPN, I’ve been with them for 2 years now. I read the reviewers here and I think there is a problem with other companies writing reviews to try to hurt companies. I have no problem with their speed, indeed it’s faster than Witopia and HMA where I was for a year before. I’m stationed overseas and I don’t like to give my details to just “any” company. The parent company of StrongVPN is Reliablehosting. They have been hosting websites since 1994, and I have a friend that hosts their website there for 3 years already.

I just want to say, take every review and consider the location and other factors. I think everyone can figure out what is going on.

Review by Hossein, February 23, 2012

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111

StrongVPN was very good until I travel to Iran.Once I had the president of the VPN company helping me with the proper site and on the second case I got no help from Strong VPN as all sites had been blocked by some authorities in Iran.I hope the Strong VPN technology can defeat the bad guys in future.

Review by warren street, February 21, 2012

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 22222

I’ve never had any problems with using credit cards on the internet for years (and I’m a pretty heavy user as I run an internet business) until went to the USA for a few months (I’m normally in UK) and needed a VPN to access iPlayer, etc. Very quickly after using strongVPN several credit cards had fraudulent transactions and had to be cancelled, which was very annoying as I was abroad and thus didn’t have access to these cards for ages until the bank sent them to my home address and someone could pick them up from there and send them to me. I’m pretty convinced someone has found a way to watch for credit card details through the VPN. A similar thing happened to me a later time using Pure VPN. Basically I think you should expect anything you do using a VPN to be publicly visible and therefore only use it for the things you have to – watching netflix/iplayer, checking what ads display on your sites in different countries, etc – and never keep it on afterwards

Review by Joaquin, February 19, 2012

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333

I decide to give a try to strongvpn , even if the price is high, i thought i will get a good service and that is what i need.. I applied to lite package 60 USD/6 months, i sent to them 80 USD as i did trought wire transfer i and i was afraid also their bank take also some comission, but ok no .. they received the 80 USD..
First week speed very good.. then after start to slow down.. really so slow that i cant even surf.. even using a free vpn was 10time faster.. they told me try other servers.. i tried one.. ok.. fast speed so after 1 week of full speed and 1 and a half month of almost no service, ( iwas traveling so no even chance to take time to deal with this , i thought was mmy computer or my connection), y changed to other server .. they told me that service its more expensive..
ok.. i already have 20 usd as credit so.. upgrade..
after 20 days they billed me 15 more USD.. and in 1 month service expire!
so.. 2 months almost no connection, 1 month of ok speed.. and then they want 95 USD for that months!. i told them ok.. wait.. i iwll go back to the old service .. i prefer even not have speed or conenction that pay 15 usd more so.. downgrade please.. ans i still will have 3 more months..
They just cancell my acounnt and took al my money!!!.. means 3 months.. only could use 1 month.. at 80 USD!.. This is what you get for dealing a bunch of russians!, i regret not listening the advices.. now i have another vpn .. 50 USD year.. and speed is even 1- times faster than the strongvpn premium one!..

Review by Pabs, January 25, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Same problem here – since I returned to Beijing in January from a vacation, I have not been able to access Facebook via StrongVPN. Could it be, as Rick said, that StrongVPN has been blocked in China? Please advise.

Review by Steven Tong, January 18, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

i have the same problem like dude kelp, right after Christmas , i cannot access to Facebook and twitter form China. i have change few ip but still no luck, hope admin can have a look at this as service not working.

Review by dude kelp, January 14, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I am stationed over seas – StrongVPN was working as advertised, but after Christmas it became too slow to use with Amazon. I have to shop for video on demand with non-vpn router and switch to the VPN router only for the location check whic takes forever. I did change the DNS per StrongVPN instructions and the time zone to reflect US and use my permament mailing address in the sates for my billing address. .

Netflix and other sources rebuffers alot at times.

Review by Rick, January 6, 2012

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

It seems Strongvpn.com has been blocked in China. Anybody please, advise!!
Thanks!

Review by abdul, December 15, 2011

  • 44444
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 55555

I use strongvpn open for the last 2-3 years not the best but better than HMA, switchvpn etc.
What I like is super fast customer service 24/7 online.
The limited server switches of course is drawback.
I have problem with disconnects from time to time but I seen the same with others as well.

Review by xbum, September 5, 2011

  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 22222

They log, check their policies carefully before even considering them. They give you a DMCA if they receive a complaint that some one downloaded some mp3 file. Did not receive a refund. Strongvpn should not advertise themselves as anonymous if they keep logs of people and their IP!

Stop pretending you been providing vpn service from 1996 as your site is from 2006 ! liars.

Review by boy, August 29, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

i could only test it once and the next is a block screen
Don’t even believe it!!!!!

Review by Disappointed, July 16, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

If you are wanting to preserve your anonymity avoid strongVPN.

However their support and speed I found to be excellent.

There are no VPN services in the US that are immune from the DMCA.

Privacy – if that is what you want is non-existent.

Review by Disappointed, March 15, 2011

  • 11111
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111

IMO this is a bait and switch program. Their vpn didn’t work when I first tried it. The support guy told me it was my ISP who was blocking ports and recommended I get a more expensive upgrade that would bypass it. Wasted hours of my time. Finally got off the support line and fixed the problem myself. It had nothing to do with my ISP. Their troubleshooting approach seemed almost designed to avoid fixing the problem rather than identifying it.

My speed was 1/10th of what it was without their vpn. I used their message support to advise them — and they sent me a stock link to test their speed with their speedtest system. It reported outrageous speeds of more than 1/3 gigabyte per second which was impossible and then it locked up. I messaged them about it and they did not even respond or follow up at all.

I’m still during the cancellation period so I’ll probably cancel and go elsewhere.

Review by Rick, March 2, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 55555
  • 55555

If you are looking to use StrongVPN to over ride your company,school, country’s firewall it will do the job. It is one of the best if you live in the US, fast servers. Great support team too. But to avoid DMCA and if you are looking to use it for bit torrent use forget it. They are nice enough to give you a warning asking you to stop or they will suspend your account. But if you just want to go on to your facebook, twitter or hulu you have a great service!

Price is ok (not cheap), great support, fast speed. Full privacy? no!

Review by Steven O'Day, February 25, 2011

  • 33333
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 33333

I have been using StrongVPN for several months now and I am less than satisfied with the service. I currently live in Malaysia and have a 4 mgb connection. By the time it reaches San Francisco (the closest opennet connection which is supposed to be 2 mgb) it is down to less than 1 mgb. I wanted to use StrongVPN for streaming US TV but the connection is so slow that it next to impossible. It will still work for internet companies that require a US IP address, but that is about all. When I contacted the customer service people, they told it wasn’t their fault. They don’t throttle the connection speed. It was all the connections between here and there. I have changed opennet connections a number of times trying to find a faster connection to no avail. The average number of hops is 7 and there is degradation at about 4 of them. By the time it reaches SF, it is below 1 mgb. I will definitely search for a better service once this contract is up. Additionally, while traveling here in SE Asia, I have had difficulty in using the connection at many locations. I try to connect and it is not recognized.

Review by Random Dude, January 28, 2011

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have been extremely happy with this service, to say the least. For me living in Colorado Springs there is only about a 5% decrease in connection speed, which is absolutely great. It is true that your account will be suspended if they receive a DMCA complaint, but they simply send you an email asking you to delete certain files and then click a link to restore your account (they take your word for it that you complied). The price for the service received is unbelievable, and it is so easy to simply change servers to an entirely new ip address (although you can only do this a certain amount of times without paying extra). Every time you connect to the VPN, however, your ip address has slightly different numbers within the same server providing total anonymity.

Review by woody, January 27, 2011

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Only one complaint about StrongVPN…. there is no privacy to speak of — they will turn you over to the authorities, especially if you are using bit torrents. They will cut you off with no warning — without giving you the benefit of the doubt whether you are guilty or not. I thought I paid for anonymity, but apparently not. Pretty expensive if all you want to do is access facebook or Twitter.

Review by Rudy, January 22, 2011

  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have been one of the StrongVPN customers for nearly 2 years now. In fact I happen to subscribe 2 accounts from them. So far so good. Have been thinking of switching to another service, but all just because I need to try the others. Price is expensive but nothing I cannot afford right now. Never experience major issue here. Customer Support is cooperative. They mean business when they do this 24/7 support system. As for the issue raised here with privacy policy, I don’t think it’s a problem for me. Use this service only for fun. All they can detect maybe I use too much of Facebook or reading news.:P If you are not into criminal acts, I don’t suppose you should yell about its policy. Speed is okay, and maybe that’s because I only subscribe to ISP with 384 kbps only.:D Higher speed requires more expensive subscription and that sucks in Indonesia.:( And since I don’t know anything about encryption, I cannot comment on that. Hopefully it is really encrypted.:)

Oh, I have another subscription from Anonymizer Universal VPN. They gave me a 1-year subscription for free and I have been using it for 8 months now. Does any of you know anything about this? I cannot seem to find any review of it. Thanks.

Review by anon, December 19, 2010

  • 44444
  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 33333

Useless if you want anonymity. They record logs and turn them over to the authorities on request. There is no anonymity with this service. Unreal

Review by Tim, November 26, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I can’t speak to the server speeds because I was never able to connect. After 3 days of tryng, Strongvpn recommended I purchase one of their routers and a new modem.

Sketchy, but I was willing to do it because I was really desperate to talk to my wife on skype. Unfortunately (or fortunately), somebody either sniffing Strongvpn’s line or working within Strongvpn had already stolen my credit card. The day I made the purchase, they maxed my card.

Awesome. Simply awesome. Its what I get for trusting a whole bunch of Russians working out of Nevada.

Review by anonymous, October 2, 2010

  • 55555
  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 22222

Decent price and service is OK. However, your account will be shutdown for certain bittorrents. Do not use this service if you are planning on using bittorents. They will work for many bittorents but for some they will not. Be careful!

Review by Disappointed, July 7, 2010

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

The Service is the pitts and the speed is very slow! I am seriously thinking of ending my subscription.

Review by Robert, May 26, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Strong VPN is an fantastic service. Never used an VPN server before. Purchased an ipad and wasnt able to watch american shows. I decided to see how an vpn server worked. The service of StrongVPN is fantastic. Via chat they explained everything and told me i could get the basic account without any loss of speed. Been using this for over an month now on my ipad, iphone, macbook pro and the speed is fantastic, no delays at all. I can never imagine not using an vpn connection from strongvpn. If an noob like me can use this everyone can.

Review by the man, May 25, 2010

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 44444
  • 11111

Lots of servers, speed pretty good,BUT! Theres always a but isn’t there. If they happen to get a dmca notice associated with you they will suspend your account without giving you the oportunity to respond first. Thats right, the customer is apparently guilty and disconnected with one complaint not 2 or 3 just 1 without any chance to respond b4 suspension. All this can be yours for some of the highest rates in the vpn buisness, shame shame. I personaly switched to IPREADATOR based in Sweeden where they take privacy seriously and could not be happier, did I mention its 1/3 of the price. Stay far far away from Strong VPN.

Review by Demetrius, March 31, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

The service is very reliable and great customer service. I haven’t had any problems with connections since I installed it and was able to access all the sites I wanted.

Review by Massimo, March 28, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Work flawlessly and reliably. Setting it up has been fast and easy. Great support.

Review by Nix L., March 24, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

So far this is the best VPN service I have ever use. Great support from the customer service team. Will continue to use StrongVPN. Thanks!

Review by Matthew, March 22, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

StrongVPN is a great way to get access to all those USA only services such as Hulu. Speed and support are just great. Well worth the money spent!

Review by Bruce, March 20, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’ve been impressed with StrongVPN so far. I chose the OpenVPN solution for the strongest security and to allow me to surf the web through strict corporate firewalls. So far it’s worked perfectly on my Mac with the Viscosity client. It’s an indispensable service for me now.

Review by Andrea B, March 20, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555

Very pleased with the support service. PTPP VPN was very easy to install, easy to connect to, and trouble free. Highly recommended!

Review by tyler, March 19, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I have been very happy with this service. The staff has been friendy and helpful, I have had consistent speeds of around 10Mbs and the price was reasonable.

Review by Howard, March 19, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

Fast. Cheap. Easy-To-Setup. That pretty much sums it up. Put in my order and was approved in under 1 hour. Setup assisted by one of STRONGVPN’s technical supporter and was up and going in no time.
Speed in China fluctuates. Sometimes it is lightning fast but sometimes I feel like it’s at 56k dial-up. Regardless of such, 95% of the time I am satisfied. StrongVPN is reputable and reliable, period.

Review by Song bo Z., March 15, 2010

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

This is the most relialbe and cost effetive VPN service I have ever used.

I’m really impressed by the speed and stablity.

Review by Seth D., March 15, 2010

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Works great. Connects and stays connected when I need it.

Review by Rena, March 15, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444

Overall the service is good, the support is very nice. The speed is somewhat slow when surfing the local website inside China and watching videos online.

Review by le z., March 14, 2010

  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

StrongVPN has certainly exceeded my expectations. Their connection speed and customer support are outstanding. Their reliable service continues even I was a few days behind payment.

Review by Adrian, March 13, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 33333
  • 55555

Great customer service. Very fast but sometimes servers are not available. I still would recommend it.

Review by Yvan, March 10, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 55555
  • 44444

Got the account within 5-10 minutes and I can play my games again!
Servers are also faster than my previous VPN hosts (acevpn,myusvpn, vpnpronet, VPNMaster) Only issue remaining for me was the internet drops caused by my University. But it’s definitely worth the investment!

Review by W. T., March 9, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I’m in Macau, and after trying many free or paid VPNs, StrongVPN provided me the best service. The activation is unbelievable fast (less than 10min after I submit the application form online and I receive the phone call from them). OpenVPN account setup is easy enough for me to use it without any problem.

Also StrongVPN is the only provider that can provide IPs from Hong Kong. As I’m in Asia country, the speed their server is very fast. I can feel that there is no speed difference between using my original ISP and using VPN.

The greatest things is that I can now continue my P2P after my ISP blockage, with incredible speed!

Review by Manuel K., March 9, 2010

  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444
  • 44444

Strongvpn is a Nice Solution, Support is Okay, Speed and Open VPN is Ok.

Review by Ryan S, March 8, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

This is a great service for expats living overseas to be able to watch American TV on Demand.

Review by sara j., March 6, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

Excellent and quick service, connection speed is always good. Help desk very efficient

Review by James Shores, March 5, 2010

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 44444
  • 55555

I read the reviews and decided after talking to live support to get an account. Really the complaints about speed of any VPN provider are highly subjective. If your ISP sucks, or has bad routes to the VPN server, then you should try a new ISP. Their online support is excellent and it’s true 24 hours a day. Most of these other providers I checked out took a day or longer to answer a simple support email. Strongvpn has been there on Live Help for sales and support whenever I need them, nice for me since I’m a night owl. I also like that I can switch to other locations inside their interface.

I never had a problem with speed, I connect from Thailand to the UK and it streams fine. I understand networking, and I want other readers to understand about expected speeds. It’s about your location to the VPN server, unless the VPN provider is overloading their servers. Strongvpn at the time of this review has 67 servers in 10 countries. The ones I selected in UK and San Francisco were fast, and I had no issues.

So remember when you place a review of a VPN provider, note your ISP and location you are connecting to. Investigate the company, make sure they are reputable. Many of the ones I checked out seemed like “start ups” with no experience.

Review by Andrew Bryant, January 23, 2010

  • 55555
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

AWFUL. Avoid. First few days took 2-3 times to connect, and then the connection was fairly slow. Now can’t connect at all and Pavel Stonko at their live support basically just said that it was a feature of their VPN that it’s not reliable. Their support people are also rude and generally unhelpful. Now waiting to see if they give me my money back willingly or whether i will have to get it back through my Credit Card company.

Review by Smith, December 21, 2009

  • 11111
  • 55555
  • 11111
  • Not Rated

This is the results from an ADSL2+ connection connected at 23mbits a second to the ISP

http://www.speedtest.net/result/659578285.png

Review by thesaint707, November 30, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I am wondering what all of you use a VPN service for! Obviously it is not for privacy or anonymity and it is just looking for someplace to access facebook or the like. This being the case you could find a much cheaper alternative.

Looking at their site http://www.strongvpn.com/acceptable.shtml one can notice the privacy (lack of) policy where they blatantly say they will ‘rat you out’ without notice. Here is the exact wording for those not inclined to read their policy “BOC may disclose information, including but not limited to, information concerning a client, a transmission made using our network, or a web site, in order to comply with a court order, subpoena, summons, discovery request, warrant, statute, regulation, or USA governmental request. BOC assumes no obligation to inform the client that client information has been provided and in some cases may be prohibited by law from giving such notice. Finally, BOC may disclose client information or information transmitted over its network where necessary to protect BOC and others from harm, or where such disclosure is necessary to the proper operation of the system.”

This means if someone asks for it with a discovery request in a U.S. civil lawsuit, someone from any law enforcement agency “requests” it or StrongVPN decides it is “necessary” to protect their own best interests they will provide info without even telling you. That is a true mark of privacy like putting on a faulty bulletproof vest.

Second it relies on PPTP which has been repeatedly exposed as insecure and riddled with security flaws. Please don’t take my word for it, check out this article http://tinyurl.com/ya59gsn .

I am hopeful this spreads some light on what to look for in a vpn.

Cheers!

Review by Paul, August 13, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

Very odd to see bad reviews here, one of the best and oldest providers, 3 or 4 years I’m using it personally without any problems.

Review by Steve, August 12, 2009

  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated
  • Not Rated

I have had service for 2 months with no problems, great live support when you need it and I’m able to switch servers when needed

Review by Robert O'Meara, August 12, 2009

  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

I have used this Strong VPN service for years.

Specifically, I have used it in the US and also very much in Eastern Europe, with much usage in Ukraine, Hungary and Russia. I have been able to send and receive communications with confidence, and never had any trouble with would-be censorship of some state authorities.
Speaking from long experience (using Strong VPN since 2002), I have always had a good connection and no problem with service. My only connection problems were with my local ISP overseas (to be expected). No confidential or credit info of mine was ever compromised in any way by anyone. Usually, these Strong VPN people answer the customer service phones in just a couple rings, and any questions have always been resolved. I really have no complaints. I suggest that if you should experience anything that causes concern or difficulty for you, just let them know so that they can take care of it for you. Hell, they are even available by Skype as well as by telephone or email.

Thanks guys! Best in the industry by far! Great quality, great service, great price.
Robert O’Meara, PhD.

Review by Jim, July 24, 2009

  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 11111
  • 11111

Their website looks great, but everything else sucks.
i’ve tired this service in various countries and it sucked every time with constant dropping me offline and slow speeds, it’s not just me, but some of my friends too.
After that i tried to cancel and they kept charging my card over and over, watch out for these guys they are complete low life scammers and i’m sure they monitor your traffic flow and sniff the packets of traffic to pull information

Review by rob, July 21, 2009

  • 33333
  • 55555
  • 55555
  • 55555

Unless somethings changed at strongVPN over the last 18 months or so, I’ve found them to be really good. Excellent Support, speed from US Servers to Australia have always been fast and Reliable.

Review by what ever, June 30, 2009

  • 22222
  • 22222
  • 11111
  • 22222

Had same problems as above guy. Cancelled my credit card payment. Avoid like the plague! SLOW internet connections, wrong IP addresses, lousy customer support. Tried numerous times to rectify service problems with tech support. TS tried to BS me, with “We’re working on it”.

Review by Marc Tartempion, June 27, 2009

  • 11111
  • 33333
  • 11111
  • 11111

Using Openvpn. European IP does not work well. Speed is reduced to half or quarter. Support is slow (24h to reply sometimes) and unable to solve simple problems. I am now engaged for 3 months, a terrible choice. Avoid it !